Interview With My Dig Partner

I know I dragged my Aunt into this, but she wasn’t necessarily kicking and screaming. She wanted to do it, but then thought it could be a bit much, for a whole week, especially to take off of work for physical labor type job rather than a much deserved vacation. Luckily the adventure of it peaked her interest enough, and I was ecstatic to have a loving family member on a dig with me to see me do my stuff, and just to experience it with me. It was a blessing having someone who’d host me and take such good care of me for my trip. My family is really supportive but, she deserves a special thank you for putting in a whole week of her time to spend with me on such an important project.

I figured an interview was the only thing to do, so I wrote out some questions and had her answer them. (Dig- related questions I assure you)

1. Was this your first dig? This was my first official dig.

2. What was your favorite part? Learning the importance of an archaeological dig, the proper way to approach it and actually finding artifacts.

3. What was your least favorite part? The traffic the first three days really put a damper on things but at the dig site I was surprised at how much physical work and body maneuvering there was.

4. Name one thing you already knew going in…  That Amber was working on her passion and it was contagious.

5. Name at least one good thing you learned… Patience pays off.

6. What was your favorite find? In one of the pits I worked in, we found a drill point and that was very exciting but I especially loved the pottery finds.

7. What part of this dig site’s mysteries has you the most intrigued?  The people that were there.  I want to know their story.  What was this site used for?  Did they live here or just gather here.

8. What do you think is the best Dig Snack and/or Food? PBJ and gatorade and salty snacks.

9. Which Muppet would you be? Miss Piggy 🙂

10.  If you had a space/time machine… when and where would you go? Atlantis then over to Aztecs and Incas. Hmmmm, possibly to Egypt as they built the pyramids and of course I’d like to throw in a little visit to see Jesus and his followers!

Comments:  Going into this dig I was a bit hesitant.  After the first day, I knew I was doomed and the second day confirmed that.  I felt awkward and dysfunctional and in way over my head.  The third day was exhilarating and I found myself full of energy even at the end of the day.  The fourth day was draining physically as I had moved heavy buckets of earth and the temp and humidity stole my energy.  By the last day, I was contemplating my return next year as the dig continues.  Thank you to Amber for sharing her passion and time.  I am delighted to have shared this dig with you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

